This game contains scenes of violence and gore, My Little Ponies, and a cute Khezu

Kirin was less tough than expected, health-wise at least, and it was very theraputic getting to beat on something that looks like a My Little Pony. Or… for some reason, it made me think of Bambi. As far as attack goes, due to the Vespoid set I spent the fight running around in, it hurt more to get walked on than to get caught by lightning. Either way, it died very quickly; from my previous experiences with Elder Dragons in MHFU, I was expecting that fight to last right to the limit of the quest… but it fell over around the 10 minute mark.
I still need two tails from it; two attempts and it kept giving me Lightcrystals and manes. I realise both are technically more rare than the Kirin’s tail, but that’s really no consolation when I want a new bow.

Now, about that Khezu. It’s the one in Small Shadow over the Swamp. Everything’s been… downsized. Except the damage – seems about the same – and the distance it can jump.
Watching it try to fight was pretty amusing. In the end this thing took longer to take down than the Kirin, though; it has much more health than even the Gathering Hall Khezu.
That said, it’s just as slow as a normal one, and with the wide-open spaces the Swamp allows you to fight in, more of a non-issue that the original ever was.

3 Comments

  1. Scott C. said,

    May 31, 2011 at 10:17 am

    You should update your blog! We’re closing on half a year with no updates!

    Surely you can blog about E3 or that awesome MHP3-HD game Sony has planned for the PS3! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xxmg0JtOqww

    You better not have went off and gotten a life! :P

    • lioleus said,

      May 31, 2011 at 5:33 pm

      Well, I’ve been trying to get a life, but apparently life doesn’t want me. Not with no commercial experience… which I need to get commercial experience, apparently. Ah, well.

      I don’t know. I haven’t had all that much to talk about, beyond ‘this game is good’ and such. No depth, no inspiration to talk about gamedev-related stuff. I’ve been working on various personal projects whilst trying to get a job, but if history tells me anything, talking about my own projects just hastens me losing interest in them. And that’s no good.

      I’ll try to come up with something.

      (Also, ech, E3. The only attention I tend to pay it is ‘…man, I wish it would be over so blogs can get back to more interesting stuff’. Though I suppose Tri DID renew my faith in console-based Monster Hunter games.)

  2. Leon said,

    June 22, 2011 at 1:41 am

    Kirin is easy when hes in the lower ranks… The comes G Rank where it takes four of you a while to catch and take it down. The pain… THE PAIN!

    Khezus however remain their easy selves, just buffed.


Leave a Reply

