Switch Axe? This is supposed to be an axe?

So I finally got around to trying out the Switch Axe.
Why? Because Ceadeus finally gave me enough Crooked Horns to make one of his weapons, and there doesn’t appear to be a bowgun, longsword or hammer option for them, sadly. At least the Ceadeus long sword doesn’t need Crooked Horns, though I’m still not sure where to get Wyvern Stones, in its place.
Which leaves me trying to choose between the great sword, the sword and shield, and the switch axe. Effectively, I’m trying to choose between the sword and shield and the switch axe, as great swords are detestably-slow and I hate them.
Alternatively, I could make the Selene Cap, but I’m not liking the look of the recoil penalty on the armour, even though I like the look of the armour itself; in return I’d be able to reload faster, I think. It’s not a good exchange for me, anyway.

My first impression of switch axes was that, as the title says, they’re… not very axe-like. Okay, so it does look like an elongated axe, but the first two hits of the powerful combo act like a lance, and the third is the longsword’s overhead swing.
My second impression was that the sword form is essentially a great sword and hence horrible to run around with; rolling is twice the speed of trying to run with that sword.
That said, it’s not irredeemable, and I’m realistic about how frequently I’d use the Ceadeus weapon if I made a sword and shield, instead. I managed to do with the switch axe what I’ve been failing to do with a hammer for a while; break Qurupeco’s beak.
Not that I’ve been trying to do that, but it is good for reaching higher targets, and is good on the raw power front.

I tested the single switch axe I already had on Qurupeco, which may have been a mistake, as the Bone Axe doesn’t really have enough sharpness to it to get through most of Qurupeco’s body; it’s yellow sharpness at best, and has issues with Qurupeco’s… feathers, I guess. And its feet. The only thing it would reliably go through was its head. If this game were incredibly realistic, I’d take anything that goes through any head over something that can connect anywhere else – …for, well, enemies where you can get at their heads, anyway – but decapitation isn’t implemented and all deaths are the death of a thousand papercuts, so…

I’ll make Ceadeus’ switch axe anyway, as I see potential in the weapon, and if I want to hit stuff with water damage I either use a bowgun or the Barbarian Blade, so the Sea Striker is obsolete from the get-go.
It’ll be useful for causing overwhelming damage on smaller stuff, anyway.

Also, why on Earth do I keep forgetting to snag Ceadeus’ data? I just realised I failed to get that done, again, today…

Leave a Reply

