So what IS a Gobul, anyway?

It’s a spiky-toad-angler-ray thingy. It’s the first aquatic creature that’s actually easier to fight on land. It’s also dead.

Though, admittedly, I’d have timed out on the first attempt if I hadn’t got really frustrated and given up a few minutes before the deadline. I… lost Gobul a few times, had problems hitting it, and got eaten a few times. I don’t know where the rest of the time went, though. I guess the damage I was doing was rather poor.
So I tinkered around with my bowgun and came up with something that let me rapid-fire Sub 1 and Normal 2 ammo – Royal Launcher frame and stock, and Light Bowgun barrel. It also will happily load two Cluster shots at a time, but as I can only carry five at once and don’t yet know how to make Cluster shot, this isn’t really a grand advantage; I also suffer from recoil on that one without Rhenoplos armour or a different bowgun, but… actually, with Cluster shot that’s a good thing. Less chance I get caught in the ensuing explosions.
Anyway, Gobul is just painful and yet I know I’ll probably have to fight it again in order to put together paralysis-inducing weapons such as a sword and shield I’d had as a potential upgrade for a while. I’m coming back later with a better gun.
Gathering tours. These are something else that was present in MHF2, but was until-now absent in Tri, and I was wondering – Moga doesn’t produce the better-quality materials, after all. So now I don’t have to pretend I’m interested in Delex or Ludroth to go gathering in these places. Pelagic… Pelagri… whatever. BETTER ore here I come.
Now all that’s missing that comes to mind are… longswords. Still. I understand holding back on the gathering tour quests, as they allow a player to get materials more easily than otherwise, and hence better sets of weaponry and equipment, but on a basic weapon type? Monster Hunter is a game about practice, and holding back on the introduction of certain types of weapons just mean players get less practice with those types
Not that I really use that type. Of large edged weapons it’s the most tolerable for me, but if I must melee then in most cases I’m still happier with a hammer.
…oh, yeah. Treasure-hunt quests. I miss those.

Leave a comment